Dixon’s No. 9 crew wins Miller Lite Carb Day Pit Stop Competition

INDIANAPOLIS — Scott Dixon’s No. 9 Dallara-Honda pit crew pulled a 11.012-second pit stop in the final round of the annual Miller Lite Carb Day Pit Stop Challenge to score Dixon’s fourth win in the made-for-fun competition.

Dixon bested the top ranked pit crew on the season, Will Power’s No. 12 Dallara-Chevrolet, to give Chip Ganassi Racing their fourth win in this competition and first since 2018 (2012, 2014, 2018, 2023).

Penske is the juggernaut here. They have 18 Indy 500 poles. They’ve won the Indy 500 18 times. They’ve also won this competition 18 times as well including just last year with Josef Newgarden.

Instead, it was Ganassi getting revenge for last year’s loss to Newgarden with Dixon getting beat in the final round a year ago. In fact, this was Dixon’s fourth straight final round appearance as we didn’t have this competition in 2020 and 2021.

Dixon lost to Marcus Ericsson in 2019 and beat James Hinchcliffe in 2018.

“It’s huge for the team,” Dixon boasted. “It just shows what everybody does at Chip Ganassi Racing, and it takes a team to win, and I have the best team.

“We’ll be giving it all Sunday, but obviously all the credit goes to everyone up here today. I just tried not to screw it up. Congrats, boys. That was fantastic.”

Dixon said this is a massive boost for Sunday’s 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 (11 a.m. ET, NBC, INDYCAR Radio Network) for the entire team with a team win like this.

“Yeah, lots,” he said. “I think it’s never — I think the whole team, this will boost the whole team, not just my car. I didn’t see the first run with Alex, but I know all the 8, 9, 10 and 11 are very strong. We’ve seen it in previous races this year and throughout last year, as well. But yeah, this will carry across us all.”

The last team though to win the Pit Stop Competition and the Indy 500 in the same year was in 2009 with Helio Castroneves.

Power was the No. 1 seed and marched to the final round with wins against both Dreyer & Reinbold Racing cars in the first two rounds and Jack Harvey in the semifinals.

Dixon, the No. 2 seed, beat Callum Ilott, Christian Lundgaard and Felix Rosenqvist.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s