The 2023 NTT INDYCAR Series full-time field now set, a look at the entry list

INDIANAPOLIS — The 2023 NTT INDYCAR Series field is now set. Entering last week, we had 3 seats open. Two of which were full-time while the final one was the oval specialist role at Chip Ganassi Racing in the No. 11 Dallara-Honda. Those have now been filled.

Agustin Canapino will drive the second Juncos Hollinger Racing entry in 2023, Takuma Sato will be the specialist at Ganassi while on Wednesday morning, it was unveiled that Sting Ray Robb will replace Sato in the No. 51 Dallara-Honda with Dale Coyne Racing in conjunction with Rick Ware Racing.

We have 27 full-time cars but could stretch to 28 depending on what Ed Carpenter Racing does with their third ride.

As far as some changes?

Andretti Autosport and Chip Ganassi Racing each strut out 3 of the 4 drivers back from last year. The only outliers are Kyle Kirkwood replacing Alexander Rossi in the No. 27 Dallara-Honda with Andretti while Marcus Armstrong and Sato share the No. 11 Dallara-Honda in a replacement for Jimmie Johnson.

RLL has all 3 drivers back but will alter numbers. Graham Rahal remains in the No. 15 Dallara-Honda while Jack Harvey and last year’s Rookie of the Year, Christian Lundgaard, swap teams with Lundgaard now in the Hy-Vee No. 30 and Harvey into the 45 entry. Meyer Shank Racing also returns both drivers from last year.

Penske and ECR both also remain status quo while Arrow McLaren rebranded and expanded too with bringing on Rossi. AJ Foyt Racing swaps their driver lineup with Benjamin Pedersen replacing Dalton Kellett and Santino Ferrucci in place for Kirkwood.

We also have four rookies (Pedersen, Canapino, Robb and Armstrong) competing for Rookie of the Year honors.

Confirmed (28)

Honda (15)

Andretti Autosport (4) – 3 of the 4 drivers from last year return (Herta, Grosjean and DeFrancesco) while Kyle Kirkwood replaces Alexander Rossi in the 27.

Chip Ganassi Racing (4) – 3 of the 4 from last year also return here with Armstrong and Sato sharing the 11 entry.

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (3) – All 3 drivers are back in 2023. Only change is the number/sponsor swap between Jack Harvey (Now in the 30) and Christian Lundgaard (Now in the 45).

Meyer Shank Racing (2) – They’ll have both drivers back.

Dale Coyne Racing (2) – David Malukas is back in the No. 18 while rookie Sting Ray Robb is in the 51.

Chevrolet (13)

Arrow McLaren SP (3) – They’ll use all 3 engines full-time next year with O’Ward, Rosenqvist and Rossi in them.

Team Penske (3) – All 3 drivers are returning

Ed Carpenter Racing (3) – Both full-time drivers are back. I don’t see Ed Carpenter walking away from his oval only schedule either.

AJ Foyt Racing (2) – They’ll have 2 new drivers in Benjamin Pedersen in the 55 (previously No. 4) replacing Dalton Kellett and Santino Ferrucci in the 14 replacing Kyle Kirkwood.

Juncos Hollinger Racing (2) – They’ll have 2 cars next year with Callum Ilott in 1 of them and Agustin Canapino in the 2nd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s