A look at the updated INDYCAR entry list plus where things stand on Indy 500 entries

INDIANAPOLIS — Things continue to fall into place on the NTT INDYCAR Series driver front. Juncos Hollinger Racing filled their second seat last week. Chip Ganassi Racing solidified their plans on their No. 11 entry on Tuesday and now the seat for the No. 51 Dallara-Honda at Dale Coyne Racing/Rick Ware Racing appears to be secured with an imminent announcement coming their way.

That would mark all full season entries locked in. Agustin Canapino is with JHR, Takuma Sato and Marcus Armstrong will share the ride at Ganassi and all signs point to Sting Ray Robb replacing Sato in that 51 ride.

So, where do things sit full time?

Confirmed (28)

Honda (15)

Andretti Autosport (4) – 3 of the 4 drivers from last year return (Herta, Grosjean and DeFrancesco) while Kyle Kirkwood replaces Alexander Rossi in the 27.

Chip Ganassi Racing (4) – 3 of the 4 from last year also return here with Armstrong and Sato sharing the 11 entry.

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (3) – All 3 drivers are back in 2023. Only change is the number/sponsor swap between Jack Harvey (Now in the 30) and Christian Lundgaard (Now in the 45).

Meyer Shank Racing (2) – They’ll have both drivers back.

Dale Coyne Racing (2) – David Malukas is back and I’m hearing Sting Ray Robb will be his teammate.

Chevrolet (13)

Arrow McLaren SP (3) – They’ll use all 3 engines full-time next year with O’Ward, Rosenqvist and Rossi in them.

Team Penske (3) – All 3 drivers are returning

Ed Carpenter Racing (3) – Both full-time drivers are back. I don’t see Ed Carpenter walking away from his oval only schedule either.

AJ Foyt Racing (2) – They’ll have 2 new drivers in Benjamin Pedersen in the 4 replacing Dalton Kellett and Santino Ferrucci in the 14 replacing Kyle Kirkwood.

Juncos Hollinger Racing (2) – They’ll have 2 cars next year with Callum Ilott in 1 of them and Agustin Canapino in the 2nd.

Indy 500 (31 Confirmed Entries)

Marcus Ericsson leads the field during last May’s Indianapolis 500 – Photo Credit: INDYCAR Media Site


Honda (16)

Andretti Autosport (5) – Colton Herta (No. 26), Kyle Kirkwood (No. 27), Romain Grosjean (No. 28), Devlin DeFrancesco (No. 29), Marco Andretti (No. 98).

Chip Ganassi Racing (4) – Marcus Ericsson (No. 8), Scott Dixon (No. 9), Alex Palou (No. 10), Takuma Sato (No. 11)

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (3) – Graham Rahal (No. 15), Jack Harvey (No. 30), Christian Lundgaard (No. 45).

Meyer Shank Racing (2) – Helio Castroneves (No. 06), Simon Pagenaud (No. 60).

Dale Coyne Racing (2) – David Malukas (No. 18) and I’m hearing Sting Ray Robb will be his teammate in the No. 51. 

The AMSP duo at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway – Photo Credit: INDYCAR Media Site

Chevrolet (15)

Arrow McLaren SP (4) – Tony Kanaan (TBA), Pato O’Ward (No. 5), Felix Rosenqvist (No. 6), Alexander Rossi (No. 7)

Team Penske (3) – Will Power (No. 1), Josef Newgarden (No. 2), Scott McLaughlin (No. 3)

Ed Carpenter Racing (3) – Ed Carpenter (likely returning), Conor Daly (No. 20), Rinus VeeKay (No. 21).

AJ Foyt Racing (2) –Benjamin Pedersen (No. 4), Santino Ferrucci (No. 14)

Juncos Hollinger Racing (2) – Callum Ilott (No. 77) and Agustin Canapino (No. 78)

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (1) – They have 2 packages and will have Stefan Wilson (No. 24) is one with a joint entry from Cusick. The 2nd car remains open though.

Jimmie Johnson and Tony Kanaan chat on pit road at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Photo Credit: INDYCAR Media Site

Potential Rides

Honda (2)

RLL (1) – They’ve had strong talks of a 4th car for Indy. 

Ganassi (1) – Jimmie Johnson’s landing point should he want to return to Indy. 

Chevrolet (3)

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (1) 

Paretta Autosport (1)

DragonSpeed (1)

Ed Carpenter is hoping this is his year at Indy glory. Photo Credit: INDYCAR Media Site

Drivers With Ties

  • Sting Ray Robb – favorite for the DCR/RWR entry.
  • Jimmie Johnson – Obviously is free to run for whomever he wants but Ganassi makes the most sense here.
  • Ed Carpenter – Clearly the favorite for the 3rd ECR seat.
  • Simona de Silvestro – Locked in with Paretta. Can they pair with someone or get that final Chevy lease?
  • RC Enerson – Has an car, can a team help them out and field Enerson who can bring funding and a chassis?
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay – Linked to RLL’s fourth seat.
  • Sage Karam – Shocking departure from DRR leads him here. The kid can flat out drive and would be a great addition for any team looking for a driver.
  • Danial Frost – He too had a strong test with Coyne.
  • Linus Lundqvist – Won the Indy Lights championship for HMD. Doesn’t have a full-time budget but could be in the mix for that potential seat though.

One comment

  1. Santino Ferrucci in the 14 very interesting, this guy has proven can race up – front with massive experience watch out can place in top 10 many races IMO. !!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s