Defending NTT INDYCAR Series Champion, Will Power, to make IMSA debut at 24 Hours of Daytona, details and what INDYCAR drivers are now on the list

Will Power will join his Team Penske teammates making their Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona debuts later this month. On Tuesday afternoon, SunEnergy1 Racing announced that the defending NTT INDYCAR Series champion will be part of their team for the IMSA season opener.

Power will participate in the GTD-Class in a Mercedes AMG GT3 which is shared with Kenny Habul, Fabian Schiller and Axcil Jeffries.

His teammates of Josef Newgarden and Scott McLaughlin will share a ride in the No. 8 Tower Motorsports entry in the LMP2 category.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon will go for his fourth career overall Daytona victory in the No. 01 Cadillac in the GTP class. He’s teaming with former open wheel driver Sebastien Bourdais.

Between the Penske trio and Dixon, that’s the entire top 4 of the final standings racing in Daytona.

Ganassi will feature two cars in the upper class with Penske also having a pair of Porsche’s. Ironically enough, neither of the three INDYCAR drivers for the Captain will race for him. They’re not the only INDYCAR teams in IMSA this year.

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing with BMW will feature two entries also in GTP with Andretti Autosport’s Colton Herta driving one of them. He’ll pilot the No. 25 BMW.

Meyer Shank Racing has an Acura in the field and will have both of their INDYCAR drivers, Simon Pagenaud and Helio Castroneves, racing in the No. 60 entry.

Andretti Autosport has teamed with Wayne Taylor Racing on their No. 10 Acura as well as having their own team in LMP3. However, like Penske, Andretti won’t have any of their drivers in either ride. Instead, Devlin DeFrancesco, Kyle Kirkwood and Romain Grosjean will still race in the popular endurance event, but for other teams.

Kirkwood will run the No. 12 Lexus for Vasser Sullivan in the GTD Daytona category. Grosjean will run the No. 66 Iron Lynx entry in GTD-Daytona Pro. DeFrancesco will race the No. 51 Oreca of Rick Ware Racing in the LMP2 division.

That’s also not it in terms of the INDYCAR flavor in NASCAR’s backyard. Rinus VeeKay will pilot the No. 11 in LMP2 also giving the field 11 current full-time INDYCAR Drivers to go along with 6 organizations (Penske, Ganassi, Andretti, Rahal, MSR and Rick Ware Racing).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s