Rasmussen nets 2nd career Indy Lights win with flag-to-flag victory in season finale at Laguna Seca

SALINAS, Calif — Sunday’s 14th round of the Indy Lights season was all for fun. The points championship was wrapped up on Saturday via Linus Lundqvist’s 6th place finish in his No. 26 HMD entry. The 35 lap season finale was all for trophies and prize money. That’s it.

It allowed pole sitter Christian Rasmussen to score his second Indy Light victory by going flag-to-flag in his No. 28 Andretti Autosport entry to become the third straight pole sitter to score a win.

A day after finishing 2nd, he led all 35 laps for his 5th podium and 8th top 5 in 14 races run during his rookie season. 6 of those 8 top 5’s occurred in the final 8 races. It was a fitting ending because he needs some help funding wise to return to his seat in 2023 and this young driver made his mark when it counted the most.

“It was awesome to end the season like this,” Rasmussen said. “It’s been a tough one for us. We started out at St. Pete running out of fuel from a win. It’s been a tough season. To end it like this on a high note, with second place in race one and first place in race two, is awesome.”

Rasmussen entered the 2022 Indy Lights season after winning the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship in 2020 and the Indy Pro 2000 Presented by Cooper Tires title in 2021. His other victory this season came in June at Road America.

“We’re looking to come back next year,” Rasmussen said. “Hopefully we can continue on what we ended on here and hopefully compete for a championship next year.”

Robb would finish 2nd in his No. 2 Andretti entry for his 8th podium of the season, three of which now being runner-ups.

He crossed the finish line 0.8893-seconds behind Rasmussen.

Matthew Brabham came from 5th to finish 3rd in his No. 83 entry to give Andretti a clean sweep of the podium. It was Brabham’s 7th podium of the season. He had 4 podiums in his first 17 starts and 7 in 14 races run this year. He had 6 top 4 results over the final 7 races to 2022.

He went from 2nd in points to 4th on Saturday after finishing 8th. He improved back up to 3rd because Hunter McElrea finished 7th to clinch the series’ Rookie of the Year title despite problems with the push-to-pass system in his No. 27 Andretti Autosport entry. McElrea ended up fourth in the standings with 460 points, 20 ahead of rookie runner-up Rasmussen.

Lundqvist dropped from the front row to finish 4th while Jacob Abel earned his 3rd straight top 5 finish to close out the season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s