Qualifying for tonight’s Wawa 250 rained out, here’s the starting lineup instead with the exact same front row now as last year at Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla — Due to mother nature, qualifying to set the field for tonight’s Wawa 250 (7:30 p.m. ET, USA, MRN) was canceled. That means the starting lineup for the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at the World Center of Speed was determined instead by the qualifying metrics.

As a result, AJ Allmendinger will start from the pole in his No. 16 Chevrolet. He did so last year too and led 29 laps in a runner-up effort. Noah Gragson will start alongside in his No. 9 Chevrolet to give us the exact same front row as last year’s race. Gragson now has 4 top 5 starting spots in his last 5 Daytona International Speedway starts.

2 of the last 3 Xfinity Series races here were won by a front row starter. However, odds are more like in favor of Gragson instead of Allmendinger. Just 5 races in the series’ history here have been won from the pole or first starting position (2002, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2021) including Austin Cindric’s win last year.

Rookies Sammy Smith and Sam Mayer would share Row 2 while Josh Berry and Riley Herbst will come from 5th and 6th respectively.

February winner Austin Hill rolls off from 14th. Odds aren’t on his side in the fact that 10 of the last 11 races here were won by a top 9 starter. Plus, just one driver has swept both Xfinity Series races at Daytona in a single season with that being Dale Earnhardt Jr. back in 2003. Furthermore, only 3 drivers have ever won 2 straight races here.

Hill does have 2 wins and 3 top 2 finishes in 4 superspeedway starts this season.

Justin Haley has won the last 2 summer races here from the 9th starting spot. Tonight however, he’ll roll off from 40th.

Jeremy Clements does start 9th and hoping to push it to 3 straight winners of this race from there. He finished 9th in this race in 2019 for his last top 10 result here. His last 5 finishes have all been 20th or worse.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s