Who wins Sunday’s Music City Grand Prix (3 p.m. ET, NBC, INDYCAR Radio Network)

NASHVILLE, Tenn — The time has come for Sunday’s 2nd annual Music City Grand Prix (3 p.m. ET, NBC, INDYCAR Radio Network). The question now is, who wins?

TRACK: Nashville Street Circuit (2.170-mile, 11-turn street course), DISTANCE: 80 Laps (173.6 Miles)

Race Day Schedule (all times ET)

10:15-10:45 a.m. ET: Warmup

3:23 pm: Command

3:30 p.m.: Green Flag

My Picks:

Qualifying matters more than the stats say. Yes, Marcus Ericsson won from 18th last year. Yes, each of the last 3 Belle Isle winners (another street course) came from Row 8. However, 3 of the 4 street course races this season too were also won from the front row also.

11 of the 13 races run in 2022 were won by a top 7 starter. 5 of the last 6 from the 2nd place starter. So, I think we can really narrow it down to who rolls off inside of the top 4 Rows for Sunday’s race.

The pole winner has just 1 win in the last 14 series race. That came in the season opener on the streets of St. Pete. In saying that, the pole winner does have 3 podiums in the last 4 starts on the season including 8 top 4 finishes in the same 13 races run. The only outliers was Felix Rosenqvist’s mechanical troubles while being in the top 5 at Texas, Colton Herta wrecking while 3rd in Long Beach, Scott Dixon speeding on pit road while leading coming to his final stop at Indy, Pato O’Ward engine troubles while running in the top 5 at Mid-Ohio and Rosenqvist’s brake troubles at Indy last week.

So I feel for who’s on the pole for Sunday’s race, he may not win but he’ll be in the top 4 when it’s all said and done.

Also, you can narrow this down to who drives up front for the big teams too.

The big teams are strong on them with Penske winning 7 of those last 15 races, Ganassi and Andretti each with 3 wins a piece and Arrow McLaren SP is the only other team to have won with their triumph in June 2021 at Belle Isle.

Penske has won 3 of the 4 this year and eyeing a 4th after a rough weekend in Nashville during the 2021 season. Ganassi won at Toronto.


1. 3 McLaughlin

2. 12 Power

3. 30 Lundgaard

4. 26 Herta

5. 9 Dixon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s