Who are the best street course racers in 2022 NTT INDYCAR Series season

We head to the 14th event of the 2022 NTT INDYCAR Series schedule with Sunday’s Music City Grand Prix (3 p.m. ET, NBC, INDYCAR Radio Network). It’s also the 5th and final street circuit of the year as well. With that said, who are the best drivers on these types of tracks this season?

Team Penske has won 3 of the 4 races by all 3 different drivers. Scott McLaughlin won the pole as well as the race in the season opener on the streets of St. Pete. 2 races later, Josef Newgarden qualified 2nd but won the Long Beach Grand Prix. For the final race on Belle Isle, Will Power came from 16th to win.

Then, Scott Dixon started 2nd but won the last time out in Toronto.

Ironically enough, while Penske is 3-for-4 this season, Chip Ganassi Racing has accumulated more points. They have 2 of the top 3 point scorers in 4 races run this season on them.

Dixon has accumulated 142 points on them which is tops in the series this year. That’s because he’s scored 4 top 8’s including 2 straight on the podium. Alex Palou (134 points) sits 3rd after 4 top 6’s including 2 of which on the podium.

The meat in the sandwich is Penske’s Will Power (137 points) who has 3 top 4’s including 2 of which on the podium too. His 15th place finish at Toronto is what has him down in 2nd and not 1st.

His teammate Newgarden has scored 121 points on them with 2 top 10’s but being 16th in St. Pete and 10th in Toronto hurts his standing.

Colton Herta (121 points) rounds out the top 5 with 3 top 8’s in 4 tries.

Throw in Scott McLaughlin (6th) and Romain Grosjean (8th) and 7 of the top 8 point scorers in 2022 belong to the “Big 3” camps.

Pato O’Ward is the lone exception in 7th but he only leads Grosjean by 1 point. O’Ward hasn’t finished better than 5th in 4 tries.

A surprise addition is Graham Rahal in 9th (90 points). He’s had 3 top 7’s in 4 tries in his No. 15 Dallara-Honda. His teammates are 15th (Christian Lundgaard) and 16th (Jack Harvey) respectively showing that their street pace is to what’s keeping them afloat in the standings.

Street Course Points

  1. Dixon 142
  2. Power 137
  3. Palou 134
  4. Newgarden 121
  5. Herta 107
  6. McLaughlin 103
  7. O’Ward 98
  8. Grosjean 97
  9. Rahal 90
  10. Rosenqvist 88
  11. Ericsson 86
  12. Rossi 82
  13. VeeKay 78
  14. Pagenaud 74
  15. Lundgaard 71
  16. Harvey 58
  17. Castroneves 56
  18. Daly 55
  19. Sato 55
  20. Malukas 51
  21. Kirkwood 46
  22. Johnson 34
  23. Ilott 33 (Ferrucci had 9 in this car at Belle Isle)
  24. Calderon 27
  25. DeFrancesco 26
  26. Kellett 26

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s