Lundqvist to run for HMD in Indy Lights for the 2022 season, where all the entries now sit

The championship favorite for the 2022 Indy Lights season is now officially confirmed. Linus Lundqvist, the top returning driver from the 2021 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires championship, will drive for HMD Motorsports for a second season in the developmental series in 2022.

The move was expected with all the NTT INDYCAR Series seats already being taken and his talents being too good to not hire.

Lundqvist, from Sweden, won three races and scored 11 podium finishes last season. He finished third in the standings behind champion Kyle Kirkwood and runner-up David Malukas, both of whom have climbed to the NTT INDYCAR SERIES in 2022.

“I’m super happy and very excited to be back for another year in Indy Lights together with HMD,” Lundqvist said. “First off, I just want to say a massive thank you to everyone involved who’s made this possible, to my sponsors and partners and everyone who’s been who’s been supporting me. It feels good to be back.

“Obviously, we had a strong year last year, but we want more. We’re here to win, and I think that’s the target both but for myself and the team. I feel like we have a good relationship, and it feels good to start off the testing that we’ve been doing a little bit this year with the people that I know and obviously a car that that I know compared to last year when everything was new. Very excited to get the season going and looking forward to winning some more races and fight for the championship.”

With their relationship beginning in 2020 as competitors in the Formula Regional Americas Championship powered by Honda, Lundqvist and Global Racing Group claimed the team and driver championship over the HMD Motorsports squad. Teaming up for Indy Lights in 2021, HMD Motorsports and Lundqvist built a strong relationship while competing for the championship.

“Linus brings a great deal of experience and speed to HMD Motorsports in 2022 and should challenge for the top step of the podium,” HMD General Manager Mike Maurini said. “Last year he competed at tracks that he had never seen and while there were some hiccups along the way, it always seemed that he would find himself close to the front of the field. His rookie season was awarded with three victories, and that is pretty impressive in a season that was one of the most competitive in a while, and only saw three different race winners.”

Global Racing Group and HMD once again will partner so this is the fourth confirmed driver. They had four cars last year.

They’ll have Benjamin Pederson back in the 24 in the GRG/HMD entry. Pedersen, 22, from Denmark, finished fourth in the championship standings as an Indy Lights rookie in 2021, trailing teammates David Malukas (second) and Lundqvist (third) and champion Kyle Kirkwood. He recorded six podium finishes in the No. 24 entry.

The HMD cars will be Danial Frost and Christian Bogle.

Bogle, 20, who will shift from Carlin to HMD Motorsports for the 2022 season. He produced 11 top 10 finishes in his 20 starts a year ago. What’s wild is, this will mark just his fourth year of racing all together with him being very raw in terms of his motorsports experience.

Frost, 20, was in USF2000 in 2018 for seven races, Indy Pro 2000 in 2019 and 2020 where he finished fifth and third respectively the two years including three combined wins before moving up to Indy Lights with Andretti last year where he finished fifth in the final standings on the heels of four podiums, three of which being runner-ups as well as seven total top fives and 17 top 10’s in 20 starts.

Andretti Autosport had four cars last year and will do so again in 2022. This time, they’ll have Sting Ray Robb, Hunter McElrea, Christian Rasmussen and Matthew Brabham.

McElrea, 22, moves up from Indy Pro 2000. He was fifth in the series in 2020 and third last year. Both with Pabst Racing. He had four wins in two seasons. That came after a year in USF2000 where he had four wins during the 2019 campaign with a final finish of second in the standings.

Rasmussen, 21, won the 2020 USF2000 title as well as the 2021 Indy Pro 2000 championship. Can he go three straight? He’s been a Jay Howard Developmental driver and has won 19 times in three years in the Road to Indy category. He was third in points as a rookie in USF2000 in 2019 with three wins. He won nine times in 2020 and seven a year ago.

Robb, 20, is the youngest of the group but maybe the most experience in the Road to Indy program. He first joined it in 2017 in Pro Mazda. He raced four years in that category, reaching victory lane seven times, all with Juncos in 2020 which netted him the series championship. That allowed him scholarship money to graduate up to Indy Lights last year with the team where he finished eighth.

Brabham, 27, first entered the Road to Indy ladder with the USF2000 Championship in 2012, where he captured the 2012 championship with four wins and 11 podium finishes. The 2012 USF2000 scholarship propelled the Australian-American to the Indy Pro 2000 field where 13 victories, 10 pole positions and 15 podiums led to the 2013 title and the chance to compete in Indy Lights for the 2014 season. Brabham went on to collect one victory, one pole position and 10 top-five finishes in 17 Indy Lights race starts. 

Those are the only two teams from last year so far confirmed for 2022. Carlin, Juncos and Pserra Racing have yet to announce plans. Carlin and Juncos each had 2 cars with Pserra 1.

In their absence though comes Abel Motorsports, Exclusive Autosport, TJ Speed Motorsports and Force Indy.

Exclusive Autosport and TJ Speed Motorsports each will run two cars and with Exclusive’s entries still TBA. TJ Speed will feature Kyffin Simpson in one car and James Roe Jr. in the other.

Simpson, 17, ran Indy Pro 2000 last year where he had three podiums in 16 starts with Juncos. He finished eighth in the final standings.

Roe Jr., 23, raced USF2000 in 2018 for two races the came back here last year in Indy Pro 2000. He won the season finale and finished seventh in the final points, one spot ahead of Simpson.

Jacob Abel will race for his family team at Abel Motorsports. Abel, 20, has made 39 starts in Indy Pro 2000 the last three years but was winless in all. He was a career best sixth in the final standings last year, one spot ahead of Roe Jr. and two ahead of Simpson.

That’s 5 of the top 8 in Indy Pro 2000 last year all graduating up to Indy Lights. There’s also three drivers from Indy Lights last year returning as well.

Force Indy is also moving up to the Indy Lights world too. They’ll bring Ernie Francis Jr. with them in a mega announcement that was unveiled at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on a chilly Thursday morning in January.

Haitian American Francis heads to Force Indy after three wins in his lone season in the Formula Regional Americas Championship and a second-place finish in the inaugural season of the Superstar Racing Experience (SRX), with a win at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

Florida native Francis, 24, is also a seven-time class champion in the Trans Am Series (2014-2020). His 47 career victories are the most of any driver in Trans Am history. His 24 wins in the premier TA category trail only Paul Gentilozzi (31), Mark Donohue (29) and Tommy Kendall (28).

So, what’s next?

That’s 14 cars now with the potential for GRG to have one more entry. Then does Carlin, Juncos or Pserra come back? It’s not looking like any of those three will but I never say never in racing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s