Explaining how Sunday’s formats work for the Busch Light Clash

Practice is now in the books. So is qualifying. But, unlike the normal race weekends, qualifying on Saturday night didn’t determine the starting lineup for Sunday’s Busch Light Clash at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. Instead, it set the starting spot for the four 25-lap heat races instead.

  • The top four fastest qualifiers from Saturday’s single vehicle qualifying session will be on the pole for each heat race, while cars that qualified fifth through eight will make up the other half of the front row in each heat.
  • The remainder of each field will be filled out using this methodology (Ex. – heat one will be made up cars with qualifying positions of one, five, nine, 13, 17, 21, 25, 29, 33, 37).

  • 3 p.m. ET on FOX, MRN starts the Heat Races (25 Laps each)
  • The top four finishers (16 total cars) from each heat race automatically advance through to the Busch Light Clash (6 p.m. ET, FS1), with the winner of heat one winning the pole and the heat two winner earning the outside pole.
  • The winners of heats three and four will fill out the second row, with the remaining order of these 16 cars being determined in the same manner.
  • With 9 cars in each heat, 4 cars will automatically make the big show with 5 cars going to the Last Chance Qualifier.
  • Approx. 4:10 p.m. ET, FOX, MRN (50 laps each)
  • The fields for those will be broken down to 2 races. The fifth place finisher in Heat Race 1 will start on the pole in LCQ 1. The fifth place finisher in Heat Race 3 will start alongside of him in second. The fifth place finisher in Heat Race 2 will earn the pole for LCQ 2 with the fifth place finisher in Heat Race 4 starting alongside. Sixth and seventh place in all those heats share Row 2 and so on. Basically, both LCQ’s will feature 10 cars each but only the top three make it to the A-Main.
  • That gives us 22 spots for the 23 car field. The final spot goes to the top driver in owners points from 2021 that isn’t already locked in. Basically it starts with Kyle Larson. He starts second in his heat race. If he races his way in, then Martin Truex Jr. is next up. He starts last in Heat 2. If he can’t make it past his heat, he goes to the LCQ. If he fails to make it out of the LCQ, he gets that 23rd and final provisional spot. If he can come through and stamp his name in, then Denny Hamlin is up and so on.
  • Approx 6 p.m ET, FOX, MRN main event (150 Laps)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s