Chip Ganassi Racing announces sports car lineup – includes 3 of the INDYCAR drivers for Daytona, a look at all the INDYCAR drivers so far confirmed for this month

INDIANAPOLIS — Chip Ganassi Racing confirmed their 2022 IMSA plans on Friday with full-time drivers in their two car lineup being Sebastien Bourdais and Renger van der Zande in the No. 01 Cadillac and Earl Bamber and Alex Lynn in the No. 02 Cadillac. They also announced their teammates for the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona endurance race later this month too.

Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Alex Palou and six-time series champion Scott Dixon will partner with Bourdais and van der Zande in the 01 while Kevin Magnussen and Marcus Ericsson joins Bamber and Lynn in the 02.

For Palou and Ericsson, this will be their debuts in Daytona. Dixon, will eye a fifth Rolex watch, four of which being an overall winner.

Ganassi in general has eight Daytona triumphs, six of which being overall and two being best in class. They had a great shot last year but late race tire problems cost them some shiny new jewelry.

Still, Cadillac has won four of the last five years so Ganassi should factor into a win later this month.

In saying that, the Rolex chase this year will once again be very INDYCAR heavy. Among the seven DPi cars, all have INDYCAR ties. In fact, there’s 11 current drivers entered in all the combined classes that will be full-time in the series for 2022 and four more that raced last year in INDYCAR but not entered in any cars yet for this upcoming season.

In fact, 5 of the top 6 drivers in the final standings last year will be in Daytona. The only one not is Josef Newgarden. Furthermore, out of the top 13 in the 2021 final INDYCAR standings, nine of which will be there.



Chip Ganassi Racing (No. 01 Cadillac) – Sebastien Bourdais, Scott Dixon, Alex Palou

Chip Ganassi Racing (No. 02 Cadillac) – Kevin Magnussen, Marcus Ericsson

JDC Miller Motorsports (No. 5 Cadillac) – Tristan Vautier

Wayne Taylor Racing (No. 10 Acura) – Alexander Rossi

Whelen Engineering Racing (No. 31 Cadillac) – Mike Conway

Ally Cadillac Racing (No. 48 Cadillac) – Jimmie Johnson

Meyer Shank Racing (No. 60 Acura) – Helio Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud


G-Drive Racing by APR (No. 68) – Ed Jones

DragonSpeed (No. 81) – Devlin DeFrancesco, Colton Herta, Pato O’Ward

DragonSpeed (No. 82) – Juan Pablo Montoya, Sebastian Montoya

Racing Team Nederland (Number TBA) – Rinus VeeKay


Andretti Autosport (Number TBA) – Jarrett Anderson, Gabby Chaves, Rasmus Lindh

GT Daytona

Vasser Sullivan (No. 12 Lexus) – Townsend Bell

Vasser Sullivan (No. 14 Lexus) – Kyle Kirkwood, Jack Hawksworth

Alegra Motorsports (No. 28 Mercedes) – Linus Lundqvist

CarBahn Motorsports with Peregrine Racing (No. 39 Lamborghini) – Robert Megennis

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (Number and drivers TBA)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s