Indy Lights driver moves – Rasmussen joins Andretti,

INDIANAPOLIS — There’s been a pair of recent moves in the Indy Lights Series. It was all predicated by Global Racing Group with HMD Motorsports as they announced that Benjamin Pedersen will stay with the team for 2022. It will be his second season in the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires Championship.

Pedersen, 22, from Denmark, finished fourth in the championship standings as an Indy Lights rookie in 2021, trailing teammates David Malukas (second) and Linus Lundqvist (third) and champion Kyle Kirkwood. He recorded six podium finishes in the No. 24 entry.

“I’m very excited to get this 2022 season going,” Pedersen said via a team release. “We are solely focusing on our own program and have been very strong in the recent tests. We are working extremely hard to keep pushing ourselves, and our goal is to go and win races and consistently be on the podium.”

Pedersen and the entire Global Racing Group with HMD Motorsports operation immediately began preparing for the 2022 season, completing multiple tests at a variety of tracks in the offseason. Pedersen also moved to the Indianapolis area toward the end of the 2021 season to be closer to the team and the heart of the Indy Lights and NTT INDYCAR SERIES.

“The goal for the future is clear, and I am pushing forward 100 percent,” Pedersen said. “In the coming months we will have a variety of different partner announcements. Stay tuned.”

HMD Motorsports will have more team and driver announcements in the coming weeks.

A few hours later, it was Andretti Autosport’s turn.

Reigning Indy Pro 2000 champion Christian Rasmussen will join the team for the 2022 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires season too.

Rasmussen looks to claim his third consecutive Road to Indy championship after being crowned back-to-back champion in 2020 in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship and in 2021 with the Indy Pro 2000 Presented by Cooper Tires Championship. He will drive the No. 28 Dallara alongside already confirmed teammates Sting Ray Robb and Hunter McElrea in the 2022 Indy Lights season.

“I am very excited to be a part of the Andretti family,” Rasmussen said. “To be a part of a big corporation like Andretti Autosport is something I have been working toward since I started racing. Coming in as the 2021 champion from Indy Pro 2000, I am excited to get to work with the team and compete up front in Indy Lights in 2022.”

Denmark native Rasmussen first entered the Road to Indy in 2019 and completed two seasons in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship, capturing 12 wins, nine pole positions and 17 podium finishes. After earning a scholarship to compete in the 2021 Indy Pro 2000 championship, Rasmussen collected seven wins, two pole positions and 12 podiums on his way to the 2021 title.

Prior to his Road to Indy career, Rasmussen competed in the F4 Danish Championship followed by the F4 U.S. Championship. He finished third in both series.

“We are thrilled to have Christian joining our 2022 Indy Lights program,” said J-F Thormann, president, Andretti Autosport. “Christian has an impressive resume in the Road to Indy after winning back-to-back championships, and we know that his caliber of talent is a great fit for our team.”

He’s trying to do what Kyle Kirkwood did just a year after each.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s