Who Wins Tonight’s Wawa 250 (7:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN, MRN) at Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla — The annual Coke Zero Sugar 400 weekend is here but for the second time in as many years, the race at the Daytona International Speedway isn’t being run in July. It will serve as the cut race of the regular season for Cup but the fourth to last race of the Xfinity Series regular season.

With that said, who wins tonight? Find out below.

Race Day Schedule

10:30 am: Garage Opens

7 pm: Driver Intros

7:30 pm: Invocation

7:31 pm: National Anthem

7:37 pm: Command

7:49 pm: Green Flag

Race Details

Coverage: 7:30 p.m. ET

Green Flag: 7:49 p.m. ET


Radio: MRN (Local Affiliates here)

Computer: NASCAR.com

Phone: NASCAR App

Race Distance: 100 Laps/250 Miles

Stage Lengths: 30-30-40

Competition Caution: Lap 15

Race: 23 of 33

Track: Daytona International Speedway

Starting Lineup

Who Wins The Wawa 250?

Austin Cindric scored the victory in the season opener at Daytona back in February and aiming to win again tonight in the Wawa 250 (7:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN, MRN). Can he do so?

Odds aren’t on his side. Just one other time has someone swept the year at Daytona in this series as that came from Dale Earnhardt Jr. back in 2003. In fact, only three other drivers have ever won at least two straight starts for them in Xfinity Series competition on the high banked 2.5-mile track with two of them being named Earnhardt. They were Darrell Waltrip (1983-1984), Dale Earnhardt (1990-1994, all in February) and Earnhardt Jr. (2003-2004, 3 straight). Can Cindric join that list?

He’s had six top 10’s in his last seven races on the season in his No. 22 Ford including three top fours in his last three starts overall. He’s also had a top eight in four of his last five Daytona starts in the series including three of which being in the top five.

AJ Allmendinger has to enter as the favorite though as he’s had three straight top twos in the series as well as a Cup win at Indy a couple of weeks ago. He was fifth back in February.

Only three drivers have ever won their first career Daytona start though and only five pole sitters have won the race but one of the five occurred during Speedweeks.

We’ve also had 12 straight different winners since 2015, so the trends are against Cindric as well as Allmendinger.

Kaulig has won three of the last four superspeedway races with Penske and JRM the other two.


Daytona – Noah Gragson (JRM)

Talladega- Justin Haley (Kaulig)

Daytona – Justin Haley (Kaulig)


Daytona – Austin Cindric (Penske)

Talladega – Jeb Burton (Kaulig)

So, who wins?

My Prediction

  1. 10 JBurton (Was 4th in February, Won Talladega, keeps Kaulig streak going)
  2. 16 Allmendinger
  3. 22 Cindric
  4. 11 Haley (Won last year and 2 of the last 4 on superspeedway’s in general)
  5. 20 HBurton (Finished 5th 3 times in last 4 races on season and 4 in the last 6. Was 2nd, 5th and 3rd in 3 NXS Daytona starts too)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s