32 cars now on Indy 500 entry list, a deep look at this following Ferruccis deal

INDIANAPOLIS — Every Indy 500 winner since 2013 is here again. There’s 13 Indy 500 wins already on the entry list.

The entire top 14 of last years finishing order is back. Plus, you add a two-time Indy 500 champion back to the fold that wasn’t here a year ago too.

That could make this one of the toughest fields to get into this year in the 105 year history of this event. I know the glory years saw more cars go home than starting spots, but their depth from top to the bottom wasn’t like this. The speeds weren’t as close to each other then either. The disparity from first to last over four laps now can be separated by a slight bobble on one of your laps.

Throw in high class drivers in every ride and you get what should be a memorable Month of May this year with the best field to ever grace us at the Brickyard.

Right now, we have 32 cars on the entry list with RLL’s announcement. 25 of them are full time and the other 7 part time rides.

AJ Foyt Racing announced that they will be joining the one off list with Charlie Kimball as the driver. Rick Ware Racing will have an additional car with DCR again. Pietro Fittipaldi will drive one of them. ECR has a third for Daly. AA has a fifth for Marco Andretti. Arrow McLaren SP has hired Juan Pablo Montoya in a third ride. Paretta Autosport brings Simona de Silvestro.

That’s 31 drivers for 32 cars. The only car without a driver right now is the No. 52 RWR/DCR entry which by all accounts looks like it will go to Cody Ware. He had by all accounts a great test at Texas last week and with James Davison driving Ware’s No. 51 seat in NASCAR for the Coca-Cola 600, Ware is open to run the Indy 500 now.

We then know DRR will likely show up with at least one car again which will push this list to 33. Do they run a second? That’s 34 if so.

Andretti is said to have an additional car to push this to 34 or 35 depending on DRR. Carlin looks to be staying put at one but a second car isn’t out of the realm either.

Top Gun Racing says all the right things but they’ve yet to formally announce.

That’s why this thing can go as small as 34 or as high as 38.

Entries So Far

Chevrolet (15)

Team Penske (4) – Josef Newgarden (No. 2), Scott McLaughlin (No. 3), Will Power No. 12), Simon Pagenaud (No. 22)

Arrow McLaren SP (3) – Pato O’Ward (No. 5), Felix Rosenqvist (No. 7), Juan Pablo Montoya (No. 68)

Ed Carpenter Racing (3) – Ed Carpenter (No. 20), Rinus VeeKay (No. 21), Conor Daly (Number TBA)

AJ Foyt Racing (3) – Dalton Kellett (No. 4), Charlie Kimball (No. 11), Sebastien Bourdais (No. 14)

Carlin (1) – Max Chilton (No. 59)

Paretta Autosport (1) – Simona de Silvestro (No. 16)

Honda (17)

Andretti Autosport (5) – Colton Herta (No. 26), Alexander Rossi (No. 27), Ryan Hunter-Reay (No. 28), James Hinchcliffe (No. 29), Marco Andretti (No. 98)

Chip Ganassi Racing (4) – Marcus Ericsson (No. 8), Scott Dixon (No. 9), Alex Palou (No. 10), Tony Kanaan (No. 48)

Dale Coyne Racing (3) – Ed Jones (No. 18 Honda), Pietro Fittipaldi (No. 51 Honda), No. 52 Honda (open)

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (3) – Graham Rahal (No. 15), Takuma Sato (No. 30), Santino Ferrucci (No. 45 Honda)

Meyer Shank Racing (2) – Helio Castroneves (No. 06), Jack Harvey (No. 60)

Part Time (8)

No. 88 Honda – The car is there, do they have the funding to go back to part time with maybe and Indy only entry? Could be part of the additional Andretti entry.

No. 24 Chevrolet – Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (ran at least 1 car for every Indy 500 since 2000)

DRR – 2nd car (ran this car for 3 straight years)

Buhl Cirtrone – ran Pigot with RLL last year. Do they run on their own or team up with another existing team for an extra car?

Top Gun Racing? – Was supposed to show up last year but ran out of time. Do they try again this May? They say all the right things but have no made official announcement for them or RC Enerson yet.

Byrd Racing? – Has had a car in each of the last 3 years for James Davison and in 2015 and 2016 for Bryan Clauson. Do they come back for the 6th time in the last 7 years? Odds are if they do, it will be an alliance.

Juncos Racing? – Sold a car to another team, so do they even have enough parts and a car left?

Notable Non Rookie Drivers Available

Oriol Servia – 11 starts, best finish 4th (2012), last start came in 2019

JR Hildebrand – 10 starts (all consecutively) – best finish 2nd (2011) – drove for DRR last 3 years

Sage Karam – 7 starts, best finish 9th (2014) – drove for DRR in 6 of 7 years

Spencer Pigot – 5 starts, best finish 14th (2019)

Zach Veach – 4 starts, best finish 15th (2020)

Oliver Askew – 1 starts (2020) – finished 30th. Won the 2019 Freedom 100

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s