Where Indy 500 entries sit 100 days out from the big race

Later today, Takuma Sato will see his new likeness on the Borg Warner Trophy. That’s part of the 100 days out celebration for this years 105th Running of the Indianapolis 500.

Sato, we know will be back in his No. 30 Honda with Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing vying to win his third Indy 500 crown in the last five years.

But, who will be joining him?

Every Indy 500 winner since 2013 is here again. There’s 13 Indy 500 wins already on the entry list.

This could be one of the toughest fields to get into next year in the 105 year history of this event. I know the glory years saw more cars go home than starting spots, but their depth from top to the bottom wasn’t like this. The speeds were as close to each other then either. The disparity from first to last over four laps now can be separated by a slight bobble on one of your laps.

Throw in high class drivers in every ride and you get what should be a memorable Month of May this year with the best field to ever grace us at the Brickyard.

Right now, we have 31 cars on the entry list. 25 of them are full time and the other 6 part time rides.

AJ Foyt Racing last week announced that they will be joining the one off list with Charlie Kimball as the driver. Rick Ware Racing will have an additional car with DCR again. ECR has a third for Daly. AA has a fifth for Marco Andretti. Arrow McLaren SP has hired Juan Pablo Montoya in a third ride. Paretta Autosport brings Simona de Silvestro.

We know DRR will likely show up with two cars again which will push this list to 33. RLL has ran a third car the last several years. That’s 34.

Entries So Far

Chevrolet (15)

Team Penske (4) – Josef Newgarden (No. 2), Scott McLaughlin (No. 3), Will Power No. 12), Simon Pagenaud (No. 22)

Arrow McLaren SP (3) – Pato O’Ward (No. 5), Felix Rosenqvist (No. 7), Juan Pablo Montoya (Number TBA)

Ed Carpenter Racing (3) – Ed Carpenter (No. 20), Rinus VeeKay (No. 21), Conor Daly (Number TBA)

AJ Foyt Racing (3) – Dalton Kellett (No. 4), Charlie Kimball (No. 11), Sebastien Bourdais (No. 14)

Carlin (1) – Max Chilton (No. 59)

Paretta Autosport (1) – Simona de Silvestro (No. 16)

Honda (16)

Andretti Autosport (5) – Colton Herta (No. 26), Alexander Rossi (No. 27), Ryan Hunter-Reay (No. 28), James Hinchcliffe (No. 29), Marco Andretti (No. 98)

Chip Ganassi Racing (4) – Marcus Ericsson (No. 8), Scott Dixon (No. 9), Alex Palou (No. 10), Tony Kanaan (No. 48)

Dale Coyne Racing (3) – Ed Jones (No. 18 Honda), No. 51 Honda (open), No. 52 Honda (open)

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (2) – Graham Rahal (No. 15), Takuma Sato (No. 30)

Meyer Shank Racing (2) – Helio Castroneves (No. 06), Jack Harvey (No. 60)

Part Time (8)

No. 88 Honda – The car is there, do they have the funding to go back to part time with maybe and Indy only entry?

No. 24 Chevrolet – Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (ran at least 1 car for every Indy 500 since 2000)

DRR – 2nd car (ran this car for 3 straight years)

RLL (3rd car) – ran an Indy only entry for 13 straight years now. Brought a 3rd car out in 2004, 2013 (DNQ), 2018 (Servia), 2019 (Jordan King), 2020 (Pigot).

Buhl Cirtrone – ran Pigot with RLL last year. Do they run on their own or team up with another existing team for an extra car?

Top Gun Racing? – Was supposed to show up last year but ran out of time. Do they try again this May?

Byrd Racing? – Has had a car in each of the last 3 years for James Davison and in 2015 and 2016 for Bryan Clauson. Do they come back for the 6th time in the last 7 years? Odds are if they do, it will be an alliance.

Juncos Racing? – Sold a car to another team, so do they even have enough parts and a car left?

Notable Non Rookie Drivers Available

Oriol Servia – 11 starts, best finish 4th (2012), last start came in 2019

JR Hildebrand – 10 starts (all consecutively) – best finish 2nd (2011) – drove for DRR last 3 years

Sage Karam – 7 starts, best finish 9th (2014) – drove for DRR in 6 of 7 years

James Davison – 6 starts, best finish 12th (2019)

Spencer Pigot – 5 starts, best finish 14th (2019)

Zach Veach – 4 starts, best finish 15th (2020)

Santino Ferrucci – 2 starts, improved each time. Was 7th in 2019 and 4th last year

Oliver Askew – 1 starts (2020) – finished 30th. Won the 2019 Freedom 100

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s