Plenty of INDYCAR/NASCAR ties to this weekend’s Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona

This weekend’s Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona will feature plenty of attention. See, with 50 entries on the docket, many of them are filled with NTT IndyCar Series or NASCAR Cup Series ties.

The defending NASCAR Cup Series champion will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona debut. The defending NTT IndyCar Series champion in Scott Dixon is back in the field too. The annual endurance race almost always has it’s fair share of an all-star cast, but this year’s field is as good as ever.

Four of the top nine in the final INDYCAR points standings from 2020, including two of the top three drivers will be a part of the field. 11 drivers who made at least one start in Indy Car last year will be represented in Daytona across all the classes this year.

Who are they and who do they join?

DPi Class

Among the seven cars vying for the win in the DPi category, six of them have a tie to either series.

Elliott enters his first 24 hour race as a part of Action Express’ No. 31 Cadillac in the DPi category. He will be teamed with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani and Felipe Nasr. Elliott, is a road racing ace. His first career Cup win came at Watkins Glen. He’s won the last two races there. He’s also won the last two races on the Charlotte ROVAL as well as the Cup race on the Daytona road course last August.

Jimmie Johnson will also race for Action Express in the No. 48 Cadillac. He’s teaming with Simon Pagenaud, Kamui Kobayashi and Mike Rockenfeller.

AJ Allmendinger will race for Meyer Shank Racing’s No. 60 Acura with Juan Pablo Montoya, Dane Cameron and Olivier Pia.

You’ll also have Sebastien Bourdais (No. 5 JDC Mustang Sampling Cadillac) as well as Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura too.

Then you have the Ganassi entry with Dixon and Marcus Ericsson joining Kevin Magnussen and Renger van der Zande.

Four Cadillac’s, Two Acura’s and one Mazda with the Mazda the only entry without an INDYCAR or NASCAR tie.


There’s 10 entries for this class three having ties. DragonSpeed. an Indy only team the last few years, has two cars (No. 81 and No. 82 ORECA). Rinus VeeKay/Ben Hanley/Garrett Grist join Rob Hodes in the 81 entry. Devlin DeFrancesco will be in the 82 car.

Also, you have Rick Ware Racing teaming with Eurasia to bring Cody Ware and Austin Dillon to the show.


There’s seven cars in this field with four having IndyCar or NASCAR ties. Forty7 Motorsports will have former Indy Lights driver Ryan Norman in the No. 7 Duqueine M30-D08 car with former Lights and INDYCAR driver Gabby Chaves as a teammate.

The Performance Tech Motorsports No. 38 entry has Rasmus Lindh. The Core Autosport No. 54 car will have Colin Braun while the No. 74 Riley Motorsports entry will feature Oliver Askew and Spencer Pigot.


This is the smallest category with six cars, but two of them belong to Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing. Connor De Phillipi and Timo Glock are the only drivers in this field to have past open wheel ties as they will be teammates with BMW Team RLL in the No. 25 BMW.

If you’re rooting for the NASCAR/INDYCAR drivers in this race, then this is the team in this class to eye.


The biggest class (19 cars) has half of the cars with ties. Former or current NASCAR drivers Bryan Sellers (Paul Miller Racing No. 1 Lamborghini Huracan), Patrick Long (Wright Motorsports’ No. 16 Porsche 911 GT3R), Andy Lally (No. 44 Magnus Acura NSX GT3) and Kenny Habul (No. 75 Sun Energy 1 Mercedes-AMG GT3) are in this class.

So are INDYCAR ties of Vasser-Sullivan Racing having Robert Megennis, Townsend Bell and Zach Veach share the No. 12 Lexus RC F GT3 and JAck Hawksworth, Aaron Telitz and Kyle Kirkwood in the No. 14 entry.

JR Hildebrand will make his Rolex debut in the No. 42 NTE Sport Audi R8 LMS GT3 with Ryan Briscoe and Ed Jones as teammates in the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3.

Katherine Legge will be in the No. 88 Team Hardpoint EBM Porsche 911 GT3R with Colton Herta in the No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3.

IndyCar Ties


Chip Ganassi Racing (team)

Scott Dixon – No. 01 Cadillac

Marcus Ericsson – No. 01 Cadillac

Sebastien Bourdais – No. 5 Cadillac

Alexander Rossi – No. 10 Acura

Helio Castroneves – No. 10 Acura

Mike Conway – No. 31 Cadillac

Jimime Johnson – No. 48 Cadillac

Simon Pagenaud – No. 48 Cadillac

Juan Pablo Montoya – No. 60 Acura


DragonSpeed (team)

Ben Hanley – No. 81 ORECA


Gabby Chaves – No. 7 Duqueine

Oliver Askew – No. 74 Ligier

Spencer Pigot – No. 74 Ligier


Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (team)

Connor De Philippi – No. 25 BMW

Timo Glock – No. 25 BMW


Vasser Sullivan (team)

Townsend Bell – No. 12 Lexus RC F

Zach Veach – No. 12 Lexus RC F

JR Hildebrand – No. 42 Audi R8 LMS

Ryan Briscoe – No. 63 Ferrari 488

Ed Jones – No. 63 Ferrari 488

Katherine Legge – No. 88 Porsche 911

Colton Herta – No. 96 BMW M6

Indy Lights Ties


Garrett Grist – No. 81 ORECA

Devlin Defrancesco – No. 82 ORECA


Ryan Norman – No. 7 Duqueine

Rasmus Lindh – No. 38 Ligier


Robert Megennis – No. 12 Lexus RC F

Kyle Kirkwood – No. 14 Lexus RC F

Aaron Telitz – No. 14 Lexus RC F



Chase Elliott – No. 31 Cadillac

AJ Allmendinger – No. 60 Acura


Cody Ware – No. 51 Ligier

Austin Dillon – No. 51 Ligier


Colin Braun – No. 54 Ligier


Bryan Sellers – No. 1 Lamborghini Huracan

Patrick Long – No. 16 Porsche 911

Andy Lally – No. 44 Acura NSX

Kenny Habul – No. 75 Mercedes-AMG

Earl Bamber – No. 88 Porsche 911

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s