Larson earns Qualifying night win on Tuesday, Bell wins the VIROC, Newman/Elliott among entries for tonight

Kyle Larson continued his Tuesday night qualifier domination for the prestigious Chili Bowl. The NASCAR driver picked up his fourth straight Warren CAT Qualifying Night triumph on Tuesday in his No. 01 Midget, making him among the favorites again for this years Golden Driller.

It was Larson’s seventh preliminary night win overall as he will compete in his 10th A-Main on Saturday. The California native is looking to go back-to-back this weekend in being a repeat Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals champion. He bested Christopher Bell last year after finishing second to Bell a year prior.

Larson, also dominated his qualifying race earlier in the night in winning by over 5 seconds. That put him in the A-Main qualifier, as he started alongside of Thomas Meseraull on the front row. The duo had an intense battle for the lead from the drop of the green, but the action was short lived as third place runner Jonathan Beeson crashed in Turn 2 on Lap 4.

On the ensuing restarting, the two were at it again. This time, they were joined by Shane Golobic as the trio battled for the top spot for the next few laps before another yellow came out on the 10th lap.

After a few cautions behind that, the action finally got going for a longer green flag run. Larson, ended up supplanting Meseraull for the lead while Golobic got by for second.

Lapped traffic played then a pivotal role for the trio of drivers over the second half of the race. It kept them bunched up with all three knowing that there were only two spots to the A-Main for the taking. One of them would be left behind.

It was looking like it would be Larson-Golobic taking the spots as coming to the white flag, they ran 1-2. But, Golobic ran over a lapped car and while trying to catch Larson for the lead and his night was over in his No. 17w NOS Energy Drink entry.

That allowed Meseraull to regain second and he’d stay there on the final dash to the checkered as Larson defeated Meseraull by .395-seconds.

Larson and Meseraull join Cannon McIntosh and Tyler Courtney as the first four drivers to make the A-Main on Saturday night. McIntosh won a preliminary race last year too as we’re 2-for-2 for last year’s qualifying night winners winning again in 2021.

We have three more preliminary nights of action to get six more spots to the A-Main the rest of the week. Tonight, it’s Ryan Newman and Chase Elliott’s turn. Also joining them are JJ Yeley, Brett Moffitt, Gio Scelzi and Santino Ferrucci among others.

For last night’s feature, Zach Daum finished third, Cole Bodine fourth and Danny Stratton rounding out the top five.

Also on Tuesday night was the annual VIROC. The 25 Lap all-star race which features an all-star cast of drivers saw Oklahoma native Christopher Bell triumph yet again. He passed McIntosh for the lead near the midway mark and blew the field away with a victory over last year’s Rookie of the Year by an astounding 4.573-seconds. Larson, Zach Daum and Justin Grant rounded out the top five in the event.

Larson, actually passed Daum for third place in the final corner on the final lap, moving him up a spot and Daum down one. .

Rico Abreu flipped in the race but was able to walk away unscathed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s