VeeKay to race for DragonSpeed in 24 Hours of Daytona, what IndyCar/NASCAR drivers are already confirmed? Find out here

DragonSpeed announced that they’ll field an additional entry into the Endurance Cup IMSA field in LMP2 for 2021 including the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona. In that added car, NTT IndyCar Series driver Rinus VeeKay will be a part of it driving alongside Garrett Grist, Rob Hodes as well as Ben Hanley, a two time Indy 500 starter.

With this announcement, it got me thinking, who else is already part of the entry list for this historic field? I mean, we’ve seen a lot of announcements already in what is an all-star cast of a race.

So far, you have plenty of INDYCAR and NASCAR ties. Do we see both defending series champions? Scott Dixon has ran this race every year since 2004. Last year was his first with Wayne Taylor Racing as the others were with Ganassi. Now that Ganassi is back in sports cars, I have a feeling he will be one of their drivers at Daytona.

Chase Elliott will enter his first 24 hour race as a part of Action Express’ No. 31 Cadillac in the DPi category. He will be teamed with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani and Felipe Nasr. Elliott, is a road racing ace. His first career Cup win came at Watkins Glen. He’s won the last two races there. He’s also won the last two races on the Charlotte ROVAL as well as the Cup race on the Daytona road course last August.

Jimmie Johnson will also race for Action Express in the No. 48 Cadillac. He’s teaming with Simon Pagenaud, Kamui Kobayashi and Mike Rockenfeller.

AJ Allmendinger will race for Meyer Shank Racing’s No. 60 Acura with Juan Pablo Montoya, Dane Cameron and Olivier Pia.

You’ll also have Sebastien Bourdais (No. 5 JDC Mustang Sampling Cadillac) as well as Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura.

That’s just the confirmed DPi class entries. Kevin Magnussen is confirmed for that Ganassi entry but I have a feeling Dixon and maybe even Tony Kanaan will join him with Renger van der Zande.

DragonSpeed and VeeKay/Hanley will highlight the LMP2 class with NASCAR’s Cody Ware and Austin Dillon joining in a RWR Eurasia entry.

For LMP3 you’ll have Oliver Askew with Riley Motorsport.

In GTLM you have Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing with a two car BMW outfit. Colton Herta has run for them lately and could again.

Then Vasser Sullivan Racing has two cars in GTD. Jack Hawksworth and Aaron Telitz will be in at least one of them.

That’s a ton of star power and we’re still a month away from the race itself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s