Will We See A Fluke Winner Again In Kansas?

Cole Custer stole a win at Kentucky. Austin Dillon backed that up with a victory on Sunday in Texas. Will someone else be a surprise winner on Thursday night at the Kansas Speedway?

Some trends say yes.

We’ve had a different winner on a 1.5-mile track each race this year and eight straight years we’ve seen the “spring” race at Kansas have a different winner as well.

Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Kevin Harvick and Brad Keselowski have won the last eight spring races at Kansas.

Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Chase Elliott, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Cole Custer and Austin Dillon are the 1.5-mile winners this year.

If both trends continue, then look no further than someone like Erik Jones, Aric Almirola, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Blaney, Kurt Busch, William Byron, Jimmie Johnson or Alex Bowman to win Thursday night. That also opens the door for someone like Tyler Reddick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. or someone like that too.

Reddick, has three straight top 10 finishes on the season. Stenhouse Jr. has three straight 11th place finishes in the Kansas spring race. Jones, has three top six finishes in his last six starts on the year too. His last two Kansas spring finishes were seventh and third respectively. His last two Fall finishes there were fourth and seventh respectively. These two make a ton of sense as potential race winners on Thursday night.

So does William Byron. He’s 0-for-90 in his Cup career, but finished fifth in the Fall Kansas race last year. Christopher Bell is finally in the top 24 in owners points and won his first career Xfinity Series race at Kansas. What about Chris Buescher? He was 10th in this race last year.

All of these guys could steal a win.

But, the thing of this is, the starting lineup draw is key for this race. Kansas is another tough track to pass on and four of the last six race winners have come from a starting spot in the top 2 Rows.

That means someone on top of the owners points will be rewarded which also means a fluke winner won’t happen.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s