Pocono Green 350 Race Lineup Set

By virtue of the finishing order of Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series Race at the Pocono Raceway, the starting lineup for Sunday’s historic doubleheader is also set.

It’s a top 20 invert, meaning the race winner (Kevin Harvick) on Saturday will start 20th on Sunday. The 20th place finisher (Ryan Preece) from Saturday’s race earned the pole.

21st through 40th will start that way with no invert.

The lineup for Saturday was unveiled on Thursday night.

The starting lineup for Race 1 was set off a blind draw based off owners points. It’s the same as we’ve been using.

Owners points 1-12 drew for starting spots in the first 6 Rows.

Owners points 13-24 drew for sports from Row 7 through Row 12.

Owners points for 25-36 for charter teams will start in spots 25th-36th based off a blind draw too.

Then, spots 37-40 were based off points for non charter teams.

Where this matters is, starting position matters at Pocono. Five of the last six race winners have come from the top 10. In fact, since 2014, 11 of the 13 Cup Series races have been won from a top 10 starting spot with one of those two not being Chris Buescher’s fluke rain shortened win in 2016. Furthermore, we’ve started a Pocono race on points five times — all six were won by a top 10 starter with four of which from the top five itself.

So, the positioning in owners points was key.

Pocono 350 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Ryan Preece, Austin Dillon

Row 2: Kurt Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 

Row 3: Cole Custer R, Ryan Newman

Row 4: William Byron, Matt DiBenedetto

Row 5: Ryan Blaney, Matt Kenseth

Row 6: Chris Buescher, Brad Keselowski

Row 7: Michael McDowell, Clint Bowyer

Row 8: Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Busch

Row 9: Christopher Bell R, Aric Almirola

Row 10: Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick

Row 11: Jimmie Johnson, Bubba Wallace

Row 12: Corey LaJoie, John Hunter Nemechek R

Row 13: Chase Elliott, Ty Dillon

Row 14: Alex Bowman, Daniel Suarez

Row 15: Brennan Poole R, Tyler Reddick R

Row 16: JJ Yeley, Josh Bilicki

Row 17: Garrett Smithley, James Davison

Row 18: Timmy Hill, Joey Logano

Row 19: Joey Gase, Erik Jones

Row 20: BJ McLeod, Quin Houff R

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s