Larson Does It Again, Wins Thursday Night In Putnamville

I wrote on Tuesday night how Kyle Larson is a treat to watch race on dirt. He won the opening night of the 16th annual Indiana Midget Week at Paragon Speedway. It’s a track he broke a 35 year old track record on and came from sixth to win the 30 Lap feature.

Well, he one upped that on Wednesday night in coming from the 14th starting spot to win at Gas City Speedway.

Well, he one upped himself again. Just when you think it couldn’t get any more amazing, it does.

Larson, started 15th in his No. 86 Toyota Thursday night in Putnamville. Near the halfway mark, he was up to third again. With eight laps-to-go, he made a pass for the lead and would never look back.

The California native, won Tuesday night’s race with a text book pass of race leader Tanner Thorson with four laps left to score his eighth straight USAC National Midget Series victory when he’s been on US soil. Wednesday night, he passed points leader and defending Midget Series champion Tyler Courtney on Lap 18 and never looked back en route to his ninth straight win.

Tonight, he once again passed Thorson for the top spot on Lap 22 and won for the 10th straight time.

The streak dates back to the 2019 season in California, his homestate by the way, when he won at Placerville, Bakersfiled and Ventura. He then swept both nights of racing at the Gateway Dirt Nationals to close out the year in December.

In January, he scored a prelim night win in Tulsa then the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals later. Overall, he’s won eight straight races over the last 14 days if you count World of Outlaws and All Star into the mix too.

Larson, now has eight IMW wins which is one shy of the record set by Bryan Clauson (9). He also has 22 national Midget wins now, tying him with Bobby East and Shorty Templeman for 26th all time.

Thorson, finished second to Larson again. He now has three top four finishes in three IMW starts.

Pole sitter Cannon McIntosh was third for his fourth top five finish of the season. Chris Windom was fourth for his series leading seventh top five of 2020 while Shane Golobic rounded out the top five.

Rico Abreu and Tyler Courtney would finish 11th and 12th respectively.

The series is back at Lincoln Park Speedway on Friday night.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s