DragonSpeed To Run 6 Races In 2020 IndyCar Season, Arrow McLaren SP Assigns Numbers To Drivers

INDIANAPOLIS — It may be Christmas week, but it hasn’t slowed the NTT IndyCar Series teams down much. On Monday, Arrow McLaren SP announced the numbers for their two-car effort for 2020.

Pato O’Ward will drive the No. 5 Chevrolet while rookie Oliver Askew will pilot the No. 7 Chevrolet. Essentially, O’Ward replaces James Hinchcliffe in that car while Askew is replacing Marcus Ericcson.

The tandem won the last two Indy Lights Series championships.

Then, on Christmas Eve (Tuesday), DragonSpeed announced that they’ll compete in six Indy Car races for 2020 too. They’ll start in the season opener in St. Pete and end in the season finale at Laguna Seca. Between those two races, they’ll run in four more including Long Beach, the two superspeedways (Indy 500, Texas) and Mid-Ohio in August.

Last year, DragonSpeed raced in three races with Ben Hanley. While no driver announcement is expected until at least January, Hanley is certainly the front runner to return. Hanley, made the second round of qualifying in his debut at St. Pete last year and finished 18th. He was 21st in Barber and 32nd in the Indy 500.

The six races is a drop of what they initially hoped to run. Throughout the year in 2019, they had targeted 10 races for 2020.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s