William Byron (173.494 mph) Earns Pocono 400 (2 p.m. ET/FS1/MRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) Pole

For the third time of the season and second straight week, William Byron will start on the pole for a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race. The Hendrick Motorsports driver turned in a lap of 173.494 mph in his No. 24 Chevrolet to earn another Busch Pole Award. Byron, will start first for Sunday’s Pocono 400 (2 p.m. ET/FS1/MRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) at the Pocono Raceway after earning the pole last week for the Coca-Cola 600 at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. The 21 year old also earned the pole for the season opening Daytona 500 as well.

In what will be his 50th career Cup Series start, it’s going all the right directions for Byron.

Kyle Busch will roll off second in his No. 18 Toyota. Busch, turned a speed of 172.629 mph and will hope to win on the Tricky Triangle for the second straight time. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver won the race last July too.

Clint Bowyer (172.520 mph) will start third in his No. 14 Ford for a different manufacturer starting in each of the top three spots. Busch’s JGR teammate of Erik Jones (172.410 mph) qualified fourth in his No. 20 Toyota while Brad Keselowski (172.374 mph) rounded out the top five.

With Denny Hamlin qualifying sixth, three JGR cars earned a top six starting spot. Defending race winner and the winner of last week’s ‘600 in Martin Truex Jr. only qualified 20th in his No. 19 Toyota.

Pocono 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: William Byron, Kyle Busch

Row 2: Clint Bowyer, Erik Jones

Row 3: Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin

Row 4: Kyle Larson, Jimmie Johnson

Row 5: Daniel Suarez, Austin Dillon

Row 6: Kevin Harvick, Chase Elliott

Row 7: Aric Almirola, Paul Menard

Row 8: Alex Bowman, Joey Logano

Row 9: Ryan Blaney, Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 10: Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr.

Row 11: Kurt Busch, Matt DiBenedetto

Row 12: Daniel Hemric R, Chris Buescher

Row 13: Ty Dillon, Darrell Wallace Jr.

Row 14: David Ragan, Michael McDowell

Row 15: Ryan Preece R, Matt Tifft R

Row 16: Landon Cassill, Ross Chastain

Row 17: Corey LaJoie, Bayley Currey

Row 18: Reed Sorenson, Quin Houff

Row 19: JJ Yeley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s