How The Extra Andretti Car Has Fared At Indy Lately

INDIANAPOLIS – Andretti Autosport announced on Wednesday that Conor Daly will drive their fifth entry in this year’s 103rd Running of the Indianapolis 500. It’s a pressure packed situation for Daly as he knows this is likely his last shot to prove his talent.

Unfortunately, racing is more about now how much money you can bring instead of how much talent one has. If it was all about talent, then Daly would have no worries and a guaranteed ride.

With how his career has gone, this is Daly’s last gasp to prove that he can compete. Andretti has won three of the last five Indy 500’s including two of which since 2016. If you can’t contend in one of their cars at Indy, then who’s going to sign you?

With that being said, how has the “extra” car fared at Indy?

Extra Andretti Entries Since 2010

2010 – John Andretti (Started 28th, Finished 30th)

2011 – John Andretti (Started 17th, Finished 22nd)

2012 – Ana Beatriz (Started 13th, Finished 23rd)

2012 – Sebastian Saavedra (Started 24th, Finished 26th)

2013 – Carlos Munoz (Started 2nd, Finished 2nd) *Led 12 Laps

2014 – Kurt Busch (Started 12th, Finished 6th)

2015 – Justin Wilson (Started 6th, Finished 21st) *Led 2 Laps

2015 – Simon de Silvestro (Started 18th, Finished 19th)

2016 – Townsend Bell (Started 4th, Finished 21st) *Led 12 Laps

2017 – Fernando Alonso (Started 5th, Finished 24th) *Led 27 Laps

2017 – Jack Harvey (Started 27th, Finished 31st)

2018 – Carlos Munoz (Started 21st, Finished 7th) *Led 4 Laps

2018 – Stefan Wilson (Started 23rd, Finished 15th) *Led 3 Laps

Four of the last six Indy 500 Rookies of the Year also were with Andretti, three of which driving this very entry.

Carlos Munoz has fared the best with starting and finishing second in his first IndyCar race back in 2013. He led 12 laps that year. He started 21st and finished seventh last year. He also led four laps. AA did bring out a sixth car last year too and had Stefan Wilson start 23rd and finish 15th. He too led in leading three laps overall.

Fernando Alonso was very strong in this car in 2017 in starting fifth and leading 27 laps before his engine let go with a 24th place run. In 2016, Townsend Bell started fourth, led 12 laps and finished 21st. He was a top five car before crashing on pit road with his teammate Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Kurt Busch won Rookie of the Year in 2014 as he started 12th and finished sixth.

As you can see, this car has the capability to start in the top four rows and finish in the top five. It also can lead laps.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s